Discuss Bodywork problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Mark Wilson
Minor Addict
MMOC Member: Yes

Paint blisters

Post by Mark Wilson »

I'm not a happy bunny :( I've been restoring my Traveller for several years, most of which it has been in the garage, where I sprayed the shell. I had all the removeable panels media blasted and ecoated elsewhere. Over the last few months I've varnished the new wood and I've sprayed the rear panels and wings ready for fitting. Huge learning curve on achieving a satisfactory finish (should never have decided on Maroon) but I'm getting there with a lot of flatting and compounding.

Earlier this week I left the painted ally panels outside overnight - forgot I'd put them outside, and they got wet. Today I found that the three side panels and two door panels I'd left outside are covered in microblisters, actually some not all that micro. The door panels were blasted and coated, but the side panels were new and I etch primed these before primer filler and top coats.

From what I've read the problem would seem to be trapped moisture, but as the panels have been inside since painting I assume that the problem is with my spraygun set-up - I've got a small cheap water trap on the outlet from the compressor, but I now know that it would be better to have something more effective as far away from the compressor as possible.

Can anyone advise on the best course of action with the affected panels - do I strip all the paint off, or will a bar coat be sufficient? I'm just hoping that I don't get this on the main body of the car if it ever gets to see outdoors again.

Mark
les
Minor Maniac

Re: Paint blisters

Post by les »