Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
catherinewren
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: No

Heavy rain - car not working :(

Post by catherinewren »

Hello

I'm a newbie so not sure if I am posting in the right place, or if there is another thread that someone can point me in the direction of.

I bought Doris on Sunday - love her - booked her in at Charles Ware to get her checked over next week. Haven't had time to get a cover (BIG MISTAKE)...it rained super heavily last night. She started this morning but I thought something didn't seem right, she seemed under powered. I drove her about a mile and then she stopped. Engine turns but doesn't start. She is now on the side of the road :( I need to at least get her home to be able to cover her....is this common? What have I done wrong? What do I need to do to prevent this in the future?

Is there anyone in Clevedon (North Somerset) that might be able to help with this?!

P.S. Am buying a cover today.

Thanks Cath
mogbob
Minor Legend

Re: Heavy rain - car not working :(

Post by mogbob »

Cath
Sorry you've not got off to a good start with your new car Doris. I do hope somebody on the forum , who is local to you , can come to your rescue.
The " reason " for breakdown could be any number of things and to come up with solutions , car unseen , is a bit difficult and may or may not be bad weather related.
Non starting is usually either fuel or electrical related. % wise most breakdowns are likely to be electrical.
The car has got fuel in the tank of course ?? Modern fuel " goes off " after a few months , so classic car owners tend to not overfill the tank ( other than for long journeys ) preferring to put " fresh " petrol in every now and again.
Your car ran the first mile OK so maybe it's not the fuel issue.