Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
markleigh
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: Yes

Engine running rich

Post by markleigh »

Newbie here who doesn’t know how to adjust the mixture - or identify the type of carb… but photo attached!
Thanks all!
Attachments
820ACCFE-4C5B-4101-8EC0-98EA3AA68B57.jpeg
820ACCFE-4C5B-4101-8EC0-98EA3AA68B57.jpeg (3.29 MiB) Viewed 1495 times
1963 4 door saloon 'Johnny'
www.mark-leigh.com
Andyhereford
Minor Friendly

Re: Engine running rich

Post by Andyhereford »

I am certainly no expert but how to adjust the mixture is very clearly explained in the Haynes Manual. Even I managed to follow it.
svenedin
Minor Legend

Post by svenedin »

It looks like a standard HS2 carburettor.

Adjusting the mixture is easy and covered in numerous web articles or on the SU website. Getting the mixture just right is not quite so straightforward and may take some trial and error.

Do not fiddle with jet centring unless there is a problem that actually needs to be corrected.

https://www.howacarworks.com/fuel-syste ... e%20richer.

Stephen.
1969 1098cc Convertible “Xavier” which I have owned since 1989.

Stephen
markleigh
Minor Friendly

Post by markleigh »

Thanks Both.
Just ordered the manual
www.mark-leigh.com
svenedin
Minor Legend

Post by svenedin »

markleigh wrote: Wed May 17, 2023 11:12 pm Thanks Both.
Just ordered the manual
The Haynes manual is quite useful but the BMC workshop manual is much better and clearer.

If you think you will be rebuilding an SU carburettor or fuel pump then the SU Workshop Manual is definitely worth having.

Stephen

Stephen
philthehill
Minor Maniac

Post by philthehill »

Save yourself the cost of a manual - all the information you require for maintenance and adjustment of HS2 carbs is available on line from Burlen Fuels:-
https://sucarb.co.uk/technical-hs-type- ... djustments