Split Screen Traveller - new acquisition.

Discuss anything Morris Minor related.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
gtt1951
Minor Addict
MMOC Member: Yes

Split Screen Traveller - new acquisition.

Post by gtt1951 »

Hello Folks, although I am new to the MMOC and this message board, I'm not new to Moggies. I used to own both a 2-door
1964 Saloon (Series V, I think) and a 1963 Traveller (series 3 - with the "clap hands" wipers).
I may well be wrong regarding designations.
I was surprised by the number of spares I still had, tucked away in the shed at the bottom of the garden!
I even located my original Haynes Manual (not so good in comparison to the Autobook one, which I used to have, couldn't find and have got a copy off Fleabay).
Until a few weeks ago, I hadn't owned a Morris Minor since 1989 (or thereabouts).
My very recent acquisition is a 1956 Series II, Split-Screen Traveller (20,000 short of the very last one).
I have a couple of questions, to start (lots more will, most probably, follow):-
(1) Should all Travellers from this period have black carpeting, rather than colour-coded (as I have)?
(2) Does anyone produce the rubber weather-seal for the wind winder channel regulator (Bull Motiff sell
the metalwork, but no rubbers)?
Picture of it arriving home (in the rain), attached/uploaded.
Best Regards to all.[frame]Image[/frame]
'50 Low-light with 918 Side-valve engine,
'51 High-light with Side-valve 918 engine,
'55 4-dr with 803 engine,
'56 Traveller with 1098 engine.
jagnut66
Minor Legend

Re: Split Screen Traveller - new acquisition.

Post by jagnut66 »

Hi,
Very nice traveller :D , looks to be in good condition but (if it is roadworthy) I would have driven it home......
Much more fun!! :P
Best wishes,
Mike.
1954 Series 2: 4 door: "Sally" -- Back on the ground with (slave) wheels and waiting to be resprayed......
1970 Triumph Herald 1200: "Hetty" -- Driven back from Llangollen in Wales (twice.....)
mbo145