Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Stevearniepalmer
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: Yes

Ashtray in centre near handbrake

Post by Stevearniepalmer »

Hi All
I’ve posted this in the other section but just in case can anyone help me with regard to the ashtray that goes in the centre between the front seats on a 1967 4 door.Im trying to replace some of the bits that are missing.How do I attach it ?I have bought one from the national this last weekend .It has the shiny bit and the outer casing including 4 screw holes .Im afraid I’m not very technical minded and don’t want to screw it in to some thing and blow the electrics or something.
Regards
Steve
ManyMinors
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: No

Re: Ashtray in centre near handbrake

Post by ManyMinors »

The ashtray doesn't fit between the front seats. It fits onto the top of the transmission tunnel in the REAR of the car. If your car originally had one then the screw holes for the 4 self tapping screws will still be present? There is nothing else fitted in that area so you won't cause any problem.
If you attended the National Rally, that would have been an ideal opportunity to look at other cars and see where the ashtray fits :wink:
ColinChandler
Minor Fan

Post by ColinChandler »

Hello,
Hope this scanned picture is of help. Its from one of Ray Newell's books and shows the ashtray sitting roughly in line with the back of the seats. Mine's exactly like that and is held in place with 4 self tapping screws which go through the carpet and any sound deadening mat underneath into the metal floor.
Cheers, Colin.
Attachments
001 (2).jpg
001 (2).jpg (271.99 KiB) Viewed 1155 times
simmitc

Post by simmitc »