wiring a late control box

Discuss Electrical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
jrgbrowne
MMOC Member: No

wiring a late control box

Post by jrgbrowne »

This is going to sound very basic, but I'm tracing a fault with the left hand side indicators not flashing and need to understand the wiring of the spade fittings on the control box. I can''t find the detail anywhere. The wiring diagram talks about connections 1-8, but the box has letters on it and I'm can't seem to find anywher that tells me what connects where.

I'm fairly certain that the explanation is somewhere in this forum, but I'm new to this and it will save me so much time if someone could just detail the pins from left to right, front and back looking at the unit as mounted on the bulkhead.

many thanks in advance

:o
katy
Minor Legend

Re: wiring a late control box

Post by katy »

The control box has nothing to do with improper operation of the indicators. The 1-8 connections are on the indicator RELAY UNIT which is mounted (I believe) on the inner wing. :D
Talk slow, think fast!
bmcecosse
Minor Maniac

Post by bmcecosse »

By 'control box' we normally think of that as the Regulator Control box for the dynamo - and as above - nothing to do with indicators. However I guess you mean the RB10 Relay box..which controls the flashing rear brake lights on early cars. Is that what you have ?? I can't specifically help with that - but someone who can will be along shortly - I'm sure.
ImageImage
jrgbrowne

Post by jrgbrowne »

Mine is a very late 2 door saloon ('71) (passed my driving test in it) and the box I'm talking about is the 8 way spade connector Lucas unit on the driver side bulkhead (left hand side when looking at it), which I believe does have an impact on the indicators as the circuit goes through it.