Discuss Electrical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Wadams
MMOC Member: No

Mightier 1000 indicator problem

Post by Wadams »

Hi Guys
I've just bought a beautiful moggie 1000 that I am delighted with! However, I have just come across my first problem; my indicator lights are not working properly. I am a novice at mechanics/electrics so I was hoping someone can help please?

I noticed that my left hand indicator worked correctly but the right hand one was flashing extremely fast. I bought a new flasher unit and fitted it but now all that happens is that the flashlight comes on but does not flash at all! Can anyone help please?
amgrave
Minor Addict

Re: Mightier 1000 indicator problem

Post by amgrave »

Sounds like one of the indicator bulbs have blown or bad connection to the bulb, have you checked to see if they are all lighting up, per side of course.

ManyMinors
Minor Legend

Post by ManyMinors »

If the indicators were working correctly on one side, then the fault would not be the flasher unit as that operates both sides.
New flasher units are often problematic so best to stick with the original probably.

As said already, the fault is more likely just a faulty bulb or connection on the side which isn't working. Usually a fast flashing on one light is a sign that another light is not working at all so check everything. Old cars like these often suffer from corroded connections :wink:
John Naylor
Minor Fan

Post by John Naylor »