What are these

Questions about History or requests for information (does anyone know where my car is now?) can go here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Tubey98
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: No

What are these

Post by Tubey98 »

Ive attached a photo where I have circled to components in the engine but im not 100% sure what they are as im still new to morris minors. Would I be right in saying ine is a fuel pump and the other is a fuel filter[frame]Image[/frame]
les
Minor Maniac
MMOC Member: Yes

Re: What are these

Post by les »

The top circle shows the carburettor float chamber, the other is a type of oil separator/breather canister.

936cbpminor
Minor Friendly

Post by 936cbpminor »

Aside from the answer to the question, the photograph shows what looks like a wire coming from battery terminal (left side as viewed) across the front of the battery and then being cable tied to a yellow sleeve/wire adjacent to the fuel pump.
I would look at this as a matter of urgency if it is a connected wire. If the cable should cut through it will fuse very rapidly and you don't want that anywhere near any fuel. It may jus be a poor photograph. Anything connected to the battery needs a fuse either from the fuse box or a separate in line one.
1961 948cc Yukon Grey 'Her In Doors'
philthehill
Minor Maniac

Post by philthehill »

I note that there is a mechanical fuel pump fitted (which I consider to be a very good move) and that rubber suction pipe looks to be very close to the exhaust pipe from where I am looking.
The rubber pipe needs to be kept well away from the hot exhaust.
The rubber pipe would have been better run further along the inside of the chassis leg and then up to the pump - well out of harms way.

SteveClem
Minor Legend

Post by SteveClem »

Other than the above,looks like a nice,clean,engine bay!
Tubey98
Minor Friendly

Post by Tubey98 »