An American Moggie ~ My '59 Morris Minor 1000 2-door saloon

Let us all know what you are up to with your current restoration project. Get that Minor on the road!
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Fingolfin
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: No

An American Moggie ~ My '59 Morris Minor 1000 2-door saloon

Post by Fingolfin »

Greetings one and all! I have been an overly proud Morris Minor owner since April 2008, and I am studying at university for degrees in Philosophy and Religious Studies.

My Moggie is more interesting. :) I own a maroon 1959 Morris Minor 1000 two-door saloon, which I refer to as Mog for short. It has a 948cc A-series engine, which runs pretty well. The car was sold at Selden Mayse Automotive in Springfield, Missouri, to a person whose name is now lost to time; after him came the great Joseph Kile, who took very good loving care of the car; after Mr Kile came another man who did not take quite such good care, and from this man my parents bought Fingolfin’s first car for $3500 – er, about ₤2150.

Random facts about Mog that may come in handy:
The odometer reads 01368 – from various documents that Mr Kile left with Mog, I’ve deduced this is most likely 101368 or 201368 -- hardly high numbers.
The car number is M/A2S3L 700148, which, by a site I found (http://www.auto-part.com/auto/shop/vin.asp), means that Mog was made about March 1959.
The engine number is 9M-U-H 289617. This is the number of the original engine; the current engine is from an MG Midget (though it's the same capacity as the original) and, to disguise this fact, someone took the actual number off.
The gearbox number is 2A3368 VAF4.
The rear axle is currently being changed out.
The body number plaque reads Z.26076 275613.