Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Danny Roff
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: No

Longer Choke cable woes

Post by Danny Roff »

hi, need some advice on either extending or purchasing an extended choke cable including outer spring case to get aroud my webber and attatch.

a bit of a novice here so forgive the ignorance

thanks

aupickup
Minor Maniac

Re: Longer Choke cable woes

Post by aupickup »

is an ital or marina choke cable longer
mike.perry
Series MM Registrar

Post by mike.perry »

Speedy Cables will fit a new cable to your knob
[sig]3580[/sig]
David53
Minor Addict

Post by David53 »

I must admit, did a bit of a double take when I read that post Mike :o
[sig]8913[/sig]

David
Sydney, Australia
1953 Ser II Empire Green
win
Minor Fan
MMOC Member: Yes

Post by win »

On my series 2, the inner cable is soldered into the knob, I used a bicycle brake cable, to replace it.
The inner cable was desoldered, new one resoldered in.
The old outer was cut off, and the new one reconnected using a 20amp electrical strip connector.
Works fine for me, at the right price.
Regards Win
South Yorkshire
MColes
Minor Legend

Post by MColes »

David53 wrote:I must admit, did a bit of a double take when I read that post Mike :o
:lol:
Matt Coles
Young Members Registrar

Find out more about the Young Members Register HERE
Danny Roff
Minor Friendly

Post by Danny Roff »

so am i to conclude its best to make one then as a longer one isnt available to buy?

Neil MG
Minor Legend

Post by Neil MG »

I think people just want to save you money! If you want an original early type knob, then the MGA choke is the same but longer or if you just want a generic choke these are also pretty long!

http://www.vintagecarparts.co.uk/en/search.phtml

or type choke cable into eBay search and take your pick!
1956 Morris Minor Series II
1959 MGA 1600 Roadster
1966 Jaguar Mk2 3.8 MOD
Danny Roff
Minor Friendly

Post by Danny Roff »