Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
rhysevans
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: No

lowering front.

Post by rhysevans »

I wanted to lower the front of my car just by a 1inch or there abouts nothing drastic and was wondering what the most simplistic way of doing this is? I've read up of a couple of different options of people who have done it and some one said they can do it at the side of the road.
Would this be a job that a absolute beginner can do or should I get a mechanic to do it for me?
Many thanks rhys

The vast minority
Minor Fan

Re: lowering front.

Post by The vast minority »

As roy will tell you, it takes no time at all, but you need mechanical gumption, quality tools and it helps to have a car with nice clean under bits.

I would say it's deffo not a novices task, if you have read the posts, you know how to do it, there Is not another way.

Big question though, why would you lower it?

Al
rhysevans
Minor Friendly

Post by rhysevans »

Oh thanks the underneath isn't a showstopper by any means but one torsion bar is new so that might help a bit,,I've got a couple of friends who own garages so I will take it to them. I want to lower it slightly because I like the look to be honest and as it's not a show car by a long shot so I don't see the harm in trying :-)

The vast minority
Minor Fan

Post by The vast minority »

Fair doos, be sure to post before and after pics so we can all admire the changes.
Deffo get your pals to do it if you are a new DIY mechanic

Good luck
Al
rhysevans
Minor Friendly

Post by rhysevans »

Cheers Al,, I'll get my mate to do it for me just trying to learn as much and do as much as i can if its simple enough.
ill take some pics and put them up when it's done,

philthehill
Minor Maniac
MMOC Member: Yes

Post by philthehill »

If fitting new torsion bars they like new springs should be replaced in pairs.