Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
austinh7
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: No

1275 exhaust manifold questions.

Post by austinh7 »

Currently I have 1275 (Sprite I believe) engine, with a 12G787 combined manifold. HS4 carb.

However I want to fit a better inlet manifold, I have a nice Oselli torquemaster with HiF44, K&N etc ready to go.

It's currently running a standard exhaust, which I think needs to be upgraded to large bore so that it can "breathe out" properly.

So the questions are:

1. What is the best bet for exhaust manifold? If buying new it seems the options are fairly limited to a Large Bore L.C.B. Exhaust Manifold (See #2). Looking at previous threads / internet searches it seems some modification / butchery can be done to standard Morris 1000 manifold to split them. Can this be done on a Sprite version?

2. Is it worth biting the bullet and going for the full Large Bore manifold and exhaust in one hit (and hoping the wife is out when it gets delivered)?
philthehill
Minor Maniac
MMOC Member: Yes

Re: 1275 exhaust manifold questions.

Post by philthehill »

There is no point in butchering a Minor thousand exhaust manifold because you will not then get the best out of the engine.
The Sprite/Midget exhaust manifold is a separate unit and can be used but the outlet points in the wrong direction (forward).
Personally I would go for a single pipe 1275cc Marina/Ital combined inlet/exhaust manifold and if not suitable for your purposes fit the Oselli torquemaster inlet manifold with a small bore 1275cc LCB manifold.
There is no point in going for the LCB manifold with the large diameter pipe unless you are intending to upgrade the camshaft with wider opening periods and port and polish the head.
Sometimes going large can be a backwards step.
The Maniflow exhaust suitable for your engine spec is Pt No:- LM053
http://www.maniflow.co.uk/index.php?vie ... tegory=209