Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Victorplum
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: Yes

Can you ID a cable please

Post by Victorplum »

Hi,

I purchased a Morris Traveller van conversion 6 months ago. All good so far. However, when I took the battery out to charge up, I noticed a couple of corroded cables coming from the Alternator (See pics) The car starts and runs fine. Do I need them? Are they just Earth cables? I am still a novice in car maintenance but am picking it up fairly quickly (I hope)

Many thanks

Steve
IMG_9629.JPG
IMG_9629.JPG (4.21 MiB) Viewed 2477 times
IMG_9628.JPG
IMG_9628.JPG (2.55 MiB) Viewed 2477 times
IMG_9627.JPG
IMG_9627.JPG (2.76 MiB) Viewed 2477 times
philthehill
Minor Maniac

Re: Can you ID a cable please

Post by philthehill »

The cables in question look to be the spare cables from when the alternator was fitted.

More importantly your electrical wiring needs to be tided up urgently especially the main positive feed cable area - if you do not tidy it up you are at risk of having a short circuit and the car going up in flames.
Those spare cables already look as if they have been short circuited as they have little to no insulation on them.
Turn the battery round so that the terminals are away from the battery clamp but still keeping the negative earth which may require a longer or extension cable to the positive terminal.
Last edited by philthehill on Wed Nov 29, 2017 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RobThomas
Minor Legend

Post by RobThomas »

Does rather look like the conversion to Alternator was made after those wires go torched, doesn't it. :(
Cardiff, UK
Victorplum
Minor Friendly

Post by Victorplum »

So remove the short circuited cables straight away and cut them off near the base where it meets the Alternator attachment?