Discuss anything Morris Minor related.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
james geering
MMOC Member: No

insurance

Post by james geering »

hi everyone,
i am new to the claasic car sence but have been round classic's since i was born,
i am 17 and working my way through my driving lessons and got a 71 minor pickup.
just wondering which would be the best way of insuring it because of a few mod's?
ill post some picture's later on.
thanks for now.
james geering
chrisryder
Minor Legend

Re: insurance

Post by chrisryder »

hi there!

I'm with Footman James, have been since i got my minor (the one that works anyway...) when i was 18. My minor was only lightly modded: minilite wheels, servo, large bore exhaust, bigger carb, stereo.

being a member of the mmoc got me a bit of a discount (dunno how much) but even with the mod's, 3rd party fire & theft was £426 limited to 3000 miles. turned out i used those 3000 miles in the first two months... but was able to ring up and buy more, ended up at a rough total of £600 for the years insurance. After that first year the renewal for 3rd party with unlimited mileage was £420. I can't really complain with that!

Be conscious of whether you got fully comp or 3rd party F&T. at my last renewal i asked how much fully comp would be, and they said £800. 3rd party F&T only covers whoever/whatever you crash into, not your own car. the car is only covered in the event of fire or theft (as the name suggests!).

i opted for 3rd party F&T as it was cheaper, and I don't plan on crashing into anything, and if i do crash, i wouldn't claim as it'd put my premiums up, so i'd end up doing the work myself anyway. I got 3rd party just to have the cheapest insurance possible to make the car road legal.