Discuss anything Morris Minor related.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
BRG?Mikey
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: Yes

Horn wiring - 1953 Series II

Post by BRG?Mikey »

I wonder if there is anybody that can help with the above. I've spent a fair amount of time looking for relevant old threads on the chat (and online) but I don't seem to be able find an answer to my specific query as most/all of the information I've found seems to relate to the later Minors with an indicator stalk. My workshop manual has a wiring diagram of course but that is a schematic, rather than a picture, and doesn't give the answer to my query. I'm no expert at interpreting wiring diagrams though.

If I press the horn push at centre of the steering wheel, there is a click at the horn itself. For clarity, the horn does work and the wiring from the horn to where the steering column is mounted to the underside of the dash is fine - if I 'short' the wiring from the purple wires at that point (which lead to the horn) to earth (via the ring around the steering column where the sprung/tensioned 'strap' is - not sure of the correct term), the horn works fine. By fiddling about with the wire that runs down the centre of the steering column from the horn push, I have occasionally been able to make the horn push work correctly. When all I get is the click at the horn, the horn push wire shows less than a volt on a multimeter. I am therefore pretty confident that the fault lies with the 70 year old wire that runs down the centre of the steering column, probably at the point at which it exits the steering column (the connection from the wire to the horn push itself is fine). The problem is that I can't find the other end of that wire (that is, where the wire exits the steering column) and therefore can't get access to that end of it.