Maintaining and owning a Morris Minor

Discuss anything Morris Minor related.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Db.Carter
MMOC Member: No

Maintaining and owning a Morris Minor

Post by Db.Carter »

Hi, my names Dan and I'm 16. I have recently purchased a Morris minor 1000 for when I can drive. I have a love for classic cars and have always wanted one since my dad told me about owning a Morris minor when he was 17. So I was just wondering what are the basics for maintaining and keeping a Morris minor running as I have little knowledge. The car itself at the minute is mechanically fine as the guy u bought it from restored it for his dad who unfortunately is no longer able to drive and I have a wad of receipts a inch thick as well as the original manual and I just want to keep it in running order so any tips and advice will be greatly appreciated.

[frame]Image[/frame]
Last edited by LouiseM on Sun Apr 13, 2014 8:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: To rotate photo
bmcecosse
Minor Maniac

Re: Maintaining and owning a Morris Minor

Post by bmcecosse »

Welcome ! Hope you get the car back on it's wheels soon..... The main problem is RUST - so carefully inspect every inch of the underside and eliminate any rust - and make sure it is all well protected. If you don't have an official Workshop Manual - google has several which you can down load FREE.. Otherwise - just the usual annual oil and filter changes - and a grease gun over the front suspension and the handbrake cables every few months. Clean and adjust the brakes at the same time.
ImageImage
Db.Carter

Post by Db.Carter »

Thank you for advice and the quick response and I will be sure to keep an eye out for rust.
MrDodo
Minor Friendly

Post by MrDodo »

Hi Dan - you may also want to join the Young Members on Facebook too. https://www.facebook.com/groups/MMOCYM/
DAVIDMCCULLOUGH
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: Yes

Post by DAVIDMCCULLOUGH »