Discuss anything Morris Minor related.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Mark Wilson
Minor Addict
MMOC Member: Yes

Glove box restoration

Post by Mark Wilson »

I've been posting various queries and responses here for nearly six years while restoring my Traveller (I don't like to rush things...), but I haven't set up a resto thread as I've always thought others are far better qualified to demonstrate their skills.

But now I think I may have joined the ranks of the true pioneers of Minor restoration :D - I've managed what I think is a decent restoration of my glove box liners with a technique all of my own (I think...)

The liners were basically sound, just a bit distorted, but the flock surfaces were very soiled and stained. I tried cleaning with various products, and although they improved they didn't come up to the standard I was looking for.

So I researched various ways of renewing the lining, including spraying new flock, before settling on flock faced Fablon, stone colour, which I bought online. I first straightened the cardboard by damping and ironing. I then made paper templates, which is quite tricky as the liners are a less regular shape than they look and used these to cut the Fablon to shape. It's sticky enough to grip to the original flock, but not ridiculously so like some products, so accurate positioning is possible, although not without appropriate swearwords. Younger members will probably find it easier, but I was a couple of years too old to be a regular Blue Peter viewer :-?

I think the end result is comparable to new boxes, and £9 of material in comparison to £70 for a new pair! 8)

Haven't worked out how to position photos in the text, but I think every picture tells a story...
Attachments
DSCF9644.JPG
DSCF9644.JPG (144.57 KiB) Viewed 3373 times
DSCF9643.JPG
DSCF9643.JPG (122.7 KiB) Viewed 3373 times
DSCF9657.JPG
DSCF9657.JPG (108.73 KiB) Viewed 3373 times
DSCF9660.JPG