Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
stainless
MMOC Member: No

engine problems novice help!

Post by stainless »

Hi all,
Hope you can help??
Just got my morris. Before i begin my bodywork restoration (new sills and floor to begin with)
I need to see if i can get the engine to run first. Im a complete novice!!

The car doesnt have a battery at present the seller said he charged it (the one in pic) and it started smoking and smell of rotten eggs so he didnt include it...

So first thing i guess get a battery 12v 43a/h im thinking??
Checked dipstick its got nice clear oil in.
So as you can see no fuel pump that i can see been told its supposed to be next to the battery on the right. Do i need to have one to start/test the engine?
Most of the electrics seem disconnected ripped out so i dont think its a case of just putting key in ignition and starting 😂
The fuel tank isnt connected to a fuel line/sender just full of bits of debris. (Going check for leaks) then clean tank up etc.

So is there a way to get this engine running with a battery with or without a fuel pump?

Many thanks a confused new neglected state morris owner.. Was going to sell her on but i want to try and get her on the road.
Attachments
Screenshot_20200625-163403_Gallery.jpg
Screenshot_20200625-163403_Gallery.jpg (1.16 MiB) Viewed 1398 times
Shropshiremoggie
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: Yes

Re: engine problems novice help!

Post by Shropshiremoggie »

I’m sure some of the more learned members will respond - however ( from the photo ) I think there are many other issues to address before trying to start the engine . I wish you luck whatever you decide .
geoberni
Minor Legend

Post by geoberni »

Wow
from just that photo, I agree with Shropshiremoggie that I'd be looking at more than a battery before trying that engine.
It really depends on how much you know about basic, older technology cars.