Discuss Electrical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Propshaft
Minor Fan
MMOC Member: No

Wiring for ammeter

Post by Propshaft »

Hi could anyone explain possibly with a wiring diagram how to connect up an ammeter to my minor which has an alternator fitted. I am a complete electrical novice .
Declan_Burns
Minor Legend

Re: Wiring for ammeter

Post by Declan_Burns »

Propshaft,
Here's a wiring diagram from the MG TD which shows how the ammeter is connected. Additional fusing shown which could also be used. It is very similar to the Moggy.
Regards
Declan
Attachments
MGTD_wiring_diagram_with_fuses_(Large).jpg
MGTD_wiring_diagram_with_fuses_(Large).jpg (90.73 KiB) Viewed 2763 times

Regards
Declan
geoberni
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: Yes

Post by geoberni »

Firstly, just note that Declan's diagram is for anyone with a Genny/Dynamo, NOT an Alternator.

But as to the original question...my response has to be ....
WHY?

There's a good reason you don't fit an ammeter with an alternator and that's because it gives out a lot more current than a Genny/Dynamo, thus significantly increasing the fire risk to the car running the cabling around it.
I know you said you're an electrical novice, but if you really want to monitor your charging system with an Alternator, you use a Voltmeter instead.

I won't bother to explain it myself here as it involves a fair few words. It's very succinctly explained here: http://mgaguru.com/mgtech/electric/et221a.htm
Basil the 1955 series II

Propshaft
Minor Fan

Post by Propshaft »

Thank you both for your replies since I asked the question regarding ammeter I have done a little research and geoberni you are so correct no point in fitting a meter with the alternator and some quite hefty cables involved i am now looking round for a volt meter so will probably be back to the forum re volt meter wiring . Again thank you both
pgp001
Minor Addict

Post by pgp001 »