Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Sidney'61
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: No

Starting handle

Post by Sidney'61 »

This may sound like a stupid question but here goes...

Emily's (my 1275) battery went flat this morning so she won't start, now I've never used a starting handle before so what do you do? I've heard stories of injuries caused by them. Any special techniques?

Thanks
Andy W____________1961 2-door 948cc (Sidney)_____________1963 2-door 1275cc (Emily)_______

MortisMinor
Minor Friendly

Post by MortisMinor »

ive neve started my car with the starting handle but ive got close up this the braket thing on my 69 minor. Dont take my word for it though. That thing the starter handle pushes again looks like it will slip off if it is turned anti clockwise, and ther should be a movable part on the handle so in theory you should be safe. But as mentiond before, dont take my word for it!. Id wait until some one whos done it before has posted.
[img]http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g283/darkdonkey/DrivingSMily.gif[/img] [img]http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g283/darkdonkey/DrivingSmilySkidMark.gif[/img]
WPR678B
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: Yes

Post by WPR678B »

Nearly broke my wrist once trying to use the starting handle! :o I personally would never try to handle start a 1275 due to the higher compression, especially Emily! :wink: 8)
paulhumphries
Minor Legend

Post by paulhumphries »

Easy.
Make sure you DON'T hook your thumb over the handle as if it kicks back then it can be painful :roll:
I feed handle in and gently wing engine over until I can start to feel resistance / compression and the handle is in approx 2.00 o'clock position.
With ignition on, choke pulled out (if cold) then it's a quick turn to start.
99% of the time, with my cars at least, it starts up straight away.