Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
silloyd
Minor Fan
MMOC Member: No

Engine Rebuild

Post by silloyd »

I'm currently stripping a 1098 with a view to rebuilding it. This is my first attempt at this, so please be patient.

The engine itself is a bit of an unknown quantity as I've never seen it running, that said it only cost me £50, so I'm happy to see how good/bad it is.

I've got to the point where I'm trying to remove the distributor drive from the crank case. I've removed the bolt that I thought secured the Distributor housing (the bit that the the distributor clamp plate attaches to, part number 10M165 in some catalogues or 12A1136 - item 3 in this diagram) but the thing won't budge and I therefore can't get the dizzy drive shaft out.

Am I missing something? Does it unscrew? Is it removable? Can anyone help please?
_____________________________________________________________________________________
My name is Xog and I am from Adderley Park. Greetings earth people...take me to your leaded.

IslipMinor
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: Yes

Re: Engine Rebuild

Post by IslipMinor »

Once the distributor clamp plate has been removed, there is a single bolt (1/4" UNF with 7/16" head) that holds the 'Item 3' in place. Once you have removed the bolt, try turning the mounting spigot in either direction to free it off. The single bolt is the only thing 'officially' holding it in place, other than maybe a bit of corrosion or it's just tight!
Richard

silloyd
Minor Fan

Post by silloyd »

Thanks Richard.

The darned thing appears to be locked solid, even with the bolt out. Probably corroded then.

Will have to try Plus Gas and 'persuasion' to see if if will shift.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
My name is Xog and I am from Adderley Park. Greetings earth people...take me to your leaded.

bmcecosse
Minor Maniac

Post by bmcecosse »