Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
onion
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: No

Engine change.

Post by onion »

My car has developed a death rattle, which I've been told is either a shattered big end or small end casing. (don't worry, I haven't driven it since the rattle occurred).

Obviously, it needs sorting, but I'm a student with no access to equipment necessary to remove the engine, so I'll be using a mechanic. I've been told it may be cheaper to replace the engine. But if its coming out, I'd like to upgrade the block to 948 as it has an 803 block (although the car was sold as/performs like a 948).

How much of a conversion would this be?
Would I need a new gear box as well?
(Would it be cheaper/better to just get them to replace the broken casing?)
Trudy, my '56 Series II

bmcecosse
Minor Maniac

Re: Engine change.

Post by bmcecosse »

Let's see a picture of the engine... I have no idea what a 'small end casing is' - sounds like BS to me.... :roll: And yes - the 803 is a very weak thing - especially the crankshaft. A 948 will be much better - and is a straight swap. You don't need any fancy equipment to change a Minor engine. Remove the radiator and front panels - undo the engine and sit it on timber blocks - remove the 'towers' - then slide the engine forward over the front crossmember (protect it and the brake pipe) and it's out! Easier if you strip off head/dynamo etc first. Do you have a replacement 948 engine ready to go in??
ImageImage
mike.perry
Series MM Registrar

Post by mike.perry »

A 948 gearbox and diff would be desirable when funds permit.
[sig]3580[/sig]
onion
Minor Friendly

Post by onion »