Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
welshrat
Minor Addict
MMOC Member: No

Engine swap - measuring the change

Post by welshrat »

The old girl walked her MOT today so decided to bite the bullet and do the jobs I have been threatening for several years. Fitting a rebuilt midget 1275 (currently has a 1275 but on its last legs and drinking oil like it was the sixties) with a 3 into 1 manifold & 1 and 1/2 inch bore exhaust (currently has the original pea shooter job) and a Hif 44 (has the original 1 and 1/4 twin midget set up at moment). Any suggestions on a before and after type test so I can establish/share the improvement or possible disaster of the changes to be made, all I can think of is getting on the M4 and recording the top speed and working out how many miles it currently does on a gallon of petrol.

beero
Minor Legend

Re: Engine swap - measuring the change

Post by beero »

MPG possibly won't improve but your smiles per gallon will.
What about 0-60 time? That would be a good indicator of any improvement.

bmcecosse
Minor Maniac

Post by bmcecosse »

Top speed is not wise on the public highway. You need a decent long hill to compare pulling power. But frankly -the new engine will be obviously better.
ImageImage
charlie_morris_minor
Minor Legend

Post by charlie_morris_minor »

have you thought of going to Llandow?

http://www.llandow.com/

you could probably get a whole host of figures running around the circuit
welshrat
Minor Addict

Post by welshrat »