Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
julie4morris
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: No

choosing a cam

Post by julie4morris »

I have a 1275 A+ out of a marina that I plan to put in my Traveller. I have a Maniflow exhaust system for it and a HIF44, but have yet to sort out an inlet manifold.

I am looking for a cam for it that has good pulling power around the 1500-4500 may be 5000 range so I’m thinking.
Could anyone give me some more advice/suggestions on what to do and a cam to fit the bill?
bmcecosse
Minor Maniac

Re: choosing a cam

Post by bmcecosse »

Speak to A C Dodd - his cams come very highly recommended for torque. Especially his 'RS' cam for what you want.
ImageImage
IslipMinor
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: Yes

Post by IslipMinor »

I have no experience of AC Dodd's cams, but he seems to go for very/extremely high lift and moderate valve opening times. The duration on the ACD-RS is 248° for both inlet and exhaust, but the lobe lift of 0.303" is as much and more than some of the very well known 276° 'Rally' cams!

Would be very interesting to see some actual dyno numbers for the cam, but I would agree that the spec suggests that the torque should be really good.
Richard

bmcecosse
Minor Maniac

Post by bmcecosse »

I'm sure he will be more than happy to oblige. He puts up some remarkable graphs on his facebook page.
ImageImage
philthehill
Minor Maniac

Post by philthehill »

The standard Marina/Ital 'A' Plus camshaft is a very good all round camshaft and is more than suitable for your requirements.
With a cam lift inlet/exhaust of 0.250" and an exhaust period of 252 degrees and an inlet period of 230 degrees it will give good torque over the rev range requirements you quote above.
Unless the cam is seriously worn - personally I would stick with the Marina / Ital cam.
What I would do though is replace the cam followers.