Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
edd_barker
Minor Fan
MMOC Member: No

Setting static timing with no reference

Post by edd_barker »

Hi all,

As I have changed my crankshaft pulley for a mini dampened one, I no longer have any relevant timing marks to work from. I need to completely reset the timing from scratch, which I have never done before. I understand the principle.

Can I get away with finding TDC by looking at piston through the spark plug hole? Do I then need to buy a 12v test light to determine when the contacts are open? I am scouring internet for a dummies guide but not much going so far...

Many thanks,

Edd

Edit: piston stopper technique looks worth a shot?
philthehill
Minor Maniac
MMOC Member: Yes

Re: Setting static timing with no reference

Post by philthehill »

Turn the engine over until No: 1 piston starts to come up on the compression stroke.
The compression stroke can be identified as when both No: 1 inlet and No: 1 exhaust valves are closing/closed and the relative rockers have clearance.
With No:1 spark plug removed place a blunt rod/screwdriver into the spark plug aperture and turn the engine until the piston pushes the rod/screwdriver to its highest point. Take care so as not to jam the rod/screw driver between piston and cylinder head/valves.
(There is absolutely no need to buy any special tools to determine TDC on compression).
You now have the approx TDC on the compression stroke.
Mark the pulley and timing cover as a base line for future reference.
Whilst it may or may not be exactly spot on as regards TDC (this approximation is because the crankshaft can turn through several degrees at TDC without effecting the piston movement) the crankshaft position is sufficient to time the engine.