Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Victorplum
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: Yes

Radiator coolant

Post by Victorplum »

Hi all,

Hopefully a simple one for you guys. I'm a novice but getting a little bit more confident every time I tackle something.

Still getting the hang of servicing my traveller that I have had for 12 months. However, when I've looked up which radiator coolant to use with, there seems to be different advice. Its a 62 traveller with a 1.3 gold seal Marina engine. I was planning on flushing out what's in there and refilling. I presume I would get something with a 50% anti-freeze mix as ill be using it all winter?

Thank you.
philthehill
Minor Maniac

Re: Radiator coolant

Post by philthehill »

This is the type of antifreeze you need to use:-

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Bluecol-U-Un ... SwjS9a9aAJ

ianmack
Minor Addict

Post by ianmack »

You should use the blue grade of antifreeze at a strength suitable for likely lowest temperatures where you live.

Luckily the blue stuff is also the cheapest. I remember the first time I came across the new grades. I asked for antifreeze and the man replied ‘What colour would you like.?’ I thought he was being funny!
Victorplum
Minor Friendly

Post by Victorplum »

Brilliant! Thank you.

Approximately how much does the radiator take to fill?
geoberni
Minor Legend

Post by geoberni »

Victorplum wrote: Thu Jul 26, 2018 4:48 pm Brilliant! Thank you.

Approximately how much does the radiator take to fill?
Series II onwards is about 5.5 ltrs, just depends if everything is still standard or not... :wink:
Last edited by geoberni on Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Basil the 1955 series II

philthehill
Minor Maniac

Post by philthehill »

Put 3 litres of Bluecol in the radiator and top up with clean water.
That will give you a coolant mixture of approx. 50/50 Bluecol/water when the heater is included...….5.57 litres.

Victorplum
Minor Friendly