problems starting

Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
NorthWalesMorris
MMOC Member: No

problems starting

Post by NorthWalesMorris »

Sorry if this is a simple issue, but I'm a novice :)
I have a 1955 Morris Minor and am having problems starting it. It was amazing for over a year, started every time. Now, it will start, I go to work, try to come home and it won't start. It makes the clicking noise, presumably the starter motor, when it starts, and at other times, makes no noise. I've flattened the battery several times, then charged it, and it does the same thing. Is it the starter motor do you think, or something else? Any advice, apart from 'read a manual' :)
mogbob
Minor Legend

Re: problems starting

Post by mogbob »

Hi NorthWalesMorris ,
Welcome to the Forum. First things first … everybody starts as a novice....knowledge comes from learning , advice and experience.
Certain assumptions are made and quite often on the forum we will try giving a full checklist for problem solving
so that people can pick up hints / tips along the way. Some of us omit a stage or stages ( deliberately , of course , to see if the experts are paying attention ! ) by pure mistake or oversight. ha ha
Basically from your description of the symptoms , I think it is likely to be the starter motor as you have suggested.
For the record , the main battery / starting system cables are thick for a reason , especially the HT leads.
Remove the cables from the battery having first any rings / jewellery from your own person. If you accidently "catch " positive cable / metal contact to negative cable / metal there will be a big surge of electricity flowing.
If this is done with a spanner , wedding ring , necklace that you are holding/ wearing , you will suffer severe burns , it might start a fire or even cause the battery to explode and shower you with acid ( for free ) as well.