Discuss anything Morris Minor related.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
thetobymac
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: No

Grumpys Rollover Jig

Post by thetobymac »

I need to replace part of the front left Chassis leg. I have borrowed a Grumpys Rollover Jig
I am not very good at grinding and welding upside down

I have a 1971 Morris Minor 4 Door Saloon, Engine is still in. I have drained the fuel tank, oil and radiator.

I have some questions
Do I have to remove the engine? I have not done this before
How do you rollover a car with an engione in? Strap engine and use a few people? 3 or 4
How do you roll it back, same amount of people? I imainge its quote heavy with the engine in, dont really want to bounce it back down...
Any tips?
Anyone done it before?

Or should I not use Jjg and just jack and axle stands and just do it with out the jig?

Any suggestions gratefully received, or any one with a workshop and a car lift they can lend me for a day so I can lift it right up...

Toby
kevin s
Minor Legend

Re: Grumpys Rollover Jig

Post by kevin s »

Fistly I think you might end up replacing most of the front section of the chassis leg, they are double skinned and rot from the inside out, what you can see is probably only the tip of the iceberg.
Given the engine is very close to and mounts on the chassis leg I would take it out first, with engine out and front panel off there won't be much upside down welding, most of it is on the sides or plug welding from the top, for the couple of welds accross the bottom clean it all up well, turn the power up and do it in a series of short bursts.
I'd just get it up high and not bother with the jig, also less chance of distortion if is up the right way and well supported in several places.
thetobymac
Minor Friendly

Post by thetobymac »