Teak framed traveller

Let us all know what you are up to with your current restoration project. Get that Minor on the road!
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Sparkymorgan
MMOC Member: No

Teak framed traveller

Post by Sparkymorgan »

Hi, I'm been recently restoring a moggy minor traveller, the car has been sat in Cyprus for 40 years, got it exported over. Been working on it for a month, doing internals. Engine brakes etc. Just moved onto the wood frame at the back, which was on really good condition. Started sanding the wood back down to remove years of grease and muck. After taking care to remove the muck, and first layers of wood, the wood underneath is teak. I'm a carpenter so that's why I chose the traveller. And I've never heard of a traveller with teak wood frames, don't know if it was done over in Cyprus or over here. The wood has come out really good. Anybody heard of teak back?
svenedin
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: Yes

Re: Teak framed traveller

Post by svenedin »

I've never heard of a teak traveller. As a carpenter you will know that ash was used for the frame (and in Morgans) for a good reason. Ash is strong, relatively lightweight and absorbs shock well. For those reasons ash is always used for bell stays (I am a bellringer and do maintenance in the tower including making and fitting new stays). However, HMS Trincomalee is made of teak so it is obviously strong timber and far more rot resistant than ash!

Stephen
1969 1098cc Convertible “Xavier” which I have owned since 1989.

Stephen
Steve Phillips
Minor Fan
MMOC Member: Yes

Post by Steve Phillips »

Many years ago...... that's always a good start isn't it...