Discuss anything Morris Minor related.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Shane1964
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: Yes

Help to get my car registered

Post by Shane1964 »

Hi all I'm new to the morris minor world, I am 17 years old and just passed my driving test and I have just bought myself a 1964 morris minor traveller that is in need of full restoration as I am at college training to be a mechanic. My traveller has been off the road for approximately 40 years so the dvla doesn't recognise it on there database, has anyone out there got any idea what I have to do to register my car as it didn't come with a logbook (lost years ago). Hope someone out there can help me.
svenedin
Minor Legend

Re: Help to get my car registered

Post by svenedin »

The club can help you with this. I suggest you join!

Stephen
1969 1098cc Convertible “Xavier” which I have owned since 1989.

Stephen
Shane1964
Minor Friendly

Post by Shane1964 »

Hi Stephen, thanks for your reply I have joined the club on Saturday just put a question out there to see what I had to do to register my car as I have been told it's not as easy as getting a V62 form from the post office. Many thanks
svenedin
Minor Legend

Post by svenedin »

Phone MMOC head office in Derby and they have someone who assists with DVLA matters.

This is the basic process: https://www.mylawyer.co.uk/registering- ... 65%20(PDF)

You can also request a Heritage Certificate from the British Motor Museum if you have the VIN (which is on a plate in the engine bay). This can be used as evidence of the car's age as it will say when the car was manufactured. https://www.britishmotormuseum.co.uk/ar ... rtificates

PS: I got my Morris when I was 17, my first car, and I still have it 34 years later. Good luck!!

Stephen
1969 1098cc Convertible “Xavier” which I have owned since 1989.

Stephen
Shane1964
Minor Friendly

Post by Shane1964 »