Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
jammmorris
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: Yes

Vacuum advance replacement

Post by jammmorris »

Hi.
My vacuum advance looks pretty shabby. The car runs OK but I've always doubted it. I tried the suck test (disconnected the metal vacuum pipe assembly at the carb). It wouldn't hold a vacuum and nothing moved inside the distributor.

I've gone online to source a replacement but the end of mine is threaded to accept the metal assembly pipe. Online ones such as this seem to suggest they're for a rubber hose push on only https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/126011556997 ... media=COPY

Is anyone able to send me a link of the correct vacuum advance replacement please for a lucas 25d?

Or, is it acceptable instead to use the vacuum advance from the link above and replace the metal assembly pipe with a rubber one (therefore without the cylinder)?

I was going to get a professional to tune the engine as I'm no expert so I'd like to have the parts ready for them.

Thanks very much.
20240217_110615.jpg
20240217_110615.jpg (1.78 MiB) Viewed 838 times
20240217_110802.jpg
20240217_110802.jpg (717.77 KiB) Viewed 838 times
philthehill
Minor Maniac

Re: Vacuum advance replacement

Post by philthehill »

There is no problem with using the push on vacuum advance unit. You have a push on connection at the other end at the carb.
The metal canister should be mounted vertically as it is a flame trap. The pipe to the vacuum advance unit should be at the top and the pipe to the carb at the bottom.

svenedin
Minor Legend

Post by svenedin »

If you ring Distributor Doctor he can sell you a vacuum advance unit that is threaded. The diaphragm inside perishes. I have never got them to operate with a suck test but I have used a brake bleeder vacuum pump which also tells you what pressure the vacuum advance is operating at.

Stephen
1969 1098cc Convertible “Xavier” which I have owned since 1989.

Stephen
olonas
Minor Fan