Discuss Electrical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Letham
MMOC Member: No

Morris Minor Pickup 1965 not starting

Post by Letham »

Hi,
I'm a newbie Moggie buyer. I took delivery of a Morris Minor 1965 pickup last week. When it was delivered the driver drove it off the transport and parked it up.

However, I have not been able to start it since then. I have pulled the choke fully out and turned the key a qtr turn but nothing. There is no noise, the engine doesn't turn, no lights come on etc. I have tried various combinations but still no joy. Spoke to both the garage bought from and the delivery driver and both said it should start on the turn of the key. I have check the battery all good.

I'm now at my wits end and don't know what to try next.

I really would appreciate assistance with this. The garage said perhaps I need to get a new engine key to try this.

Fingers crossed someone could assist me as desperate to get it going and drive it along with moving it from where it was left.

Many thanks
svenedin
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: Yes

Re: Morris Minor Pickup 1965 not starting

Post by svenedin »

You say the battery is good. How did you check it?

It is probably something very simple. Either a flat battery (charge it or get a jump start from a friend) or you just need to remove the terminals from the battery, clean the terminals with some abrasive (a dry pot scourer will do) replace the terminals and try again. Morris Minor sidelights and headlights do not turn off when the ignition is turned off and there is no warning bong like a modern car so if you don't know it is very easy to get a flat battery. If you get a jump start be very careful that you check the polarity of your new Morris. Almost all Morris Minors (except the very last ones) were POSITIVE earth but many have been changed to NEGATIVE earth (which is the norm these days).

Stephen

Video is me starting my car