1960 four door Morris 1000 on ebay

Discuss anything Morris Minor related.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Kittycat
MMOC Member: No

1960 four door Morris 1000 on ebay

Post by Kittycat »

I'm considering buying the following vehicle listed on ebay. Does anyone know the car? I'm a complete novice with no mechanical aptitude and the car does have some rust spots and bubbling on the rear doors, so I'm not sure whether it's the one for me or whether I should go for something in slightly better nick.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/330819055781? ... 1438.l2649
lambrettalad
Minor Legend

Re: 1960 four door Morris 1000 on ebay

Post by lambrettalad »

the description seems detailed ,price if as said seems very fair.

Why not state your location and see if any one is near you or the car to take a closer look.
Cheers Alex
all thoughts are given in good faith but..." You pays your money and takes your choice"

[/color]
LouiseM

Post by LouiseM »

If you haven't already read it, take a look at this thread which offers advice to those thinking of buying a Minor: http://www.mmoc.org.uk/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=37815

It's very difficult to judge the condition of a car, or offer advice as to whether it is the car for you, just by looking at a couple of photos. Minors can be real rust traps so as a 'complete novice' when viewing a vehicle please take someone with you who has previous experience of Minors / 'older' vehicles and will know the areas to check. You don't give your location but as the car you are interested in is in Huntingdon it might be worth contacting the Cambridge MMOC branch to see if someone would mind checking the car over with you. The branch contact is Jean Fisher: jean.fisher (at) ntlworld.com

In your initial post here you mentioned that you had a budget of up to £4,000 to spend. You should be able to purchase a very nice saloon for that price so take your time when looking to make sure that you get a good one.