Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
fasthamster
Minor Friendly
MMOC Member: Yes

1000 Air filter modification

Post by fasthamster »

Hello fellow Mogs (hope that's acceptable etiquette),

I am a MMOC forum newbie :o looking for some advice on how to upgrade my air filter on my 1968 Morris Minor 1000 engine.
The pancake style air filter does not work because it does not have an inlet hole for the breather pipe from the crankcase cover.

So, am I best staying with the standard build or are there upgrade options. Any advice welcome :)
Declan_Burns
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: No

Re: 1000 Air filter modification

Post by Declan_Burns »

I prefer cone filters as opposed to pancake. It is easy to drill a hole and solder in a piece of copper pipe, as in the photo, to connect the breather pipe.
Regards
Declan
Attachments
Filter_stub.jpg
Filter_stub.jpg (56.83 KiB) Viewed 2946 times

Regards
Declan
philthehill
Minor Maniac

Post by philthehill »

I have to ask why do you want to upgrade the air cleaner?
Other than looks there is little to be achieved by changing the air filter to an after market type
Only if you carry out or have carried out additional performance modifications can you expect to benefit from replacing the air filter.
Phil

fasthamster
Minor Friendly

Post by fasthamster »

Thanks chaps. I have not made any mods to the engine but I guess assumed that a more modern air filter would help the engine to breathe better and cleaner. Maybe not so, so another job ticked off the list ! :wink:
edd_barker
Minor Fan

Post by edd_barker »

Will make it louder!

You could cut your combined manifold, removing the inlet section and fit a classic mini alloy manifold, they are pretty cheap and most will have a vacuum take-off. Assuming you don't have a servo you could use that for the rocker breather? Unless others have tried and found that vacuum too strong...