Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
thomasbs56xx
MMOC Member: No

Please help. loss of power, jolting

Post by thomasbs56xx »

Recently purchased 1957 2 door saloon.
three trips to mechanic (plus more for another issue now resolved)
Car runs fine sometimes, others it jumps and lurches, loses acceleration and wants to stop, ignition light comes on.
Mechanic said after changing the fuel pump and some other bits (i am not very good at these things, possibly should not have bought a 60yo car) that he doesnt know what to do if the problem persists as it doesnt usually happen to a minor... If anyone has encountered a similar issue, I would appreciate hearing about what was done to resolve it. cheers.
Dean
Minor Legend

Re: Please help. loss of power, jolting

Post by Dean »

I wouldn't have thought jolting would be the fuel pump. If you hear it ticking when you first put the ignition on, then it should be okay.

I have had these symptoms with stale fuel, if all the fuel in the tank is fresh then read on.

I'd suspect it's electrical, if occasionally you get a poor spark then the car is likely to run like a pig.

Check all your leads are attached correctly and do not appear old and broken. I've had trained mechanics not fit my leads correctly.

I would recommend taking out each spark plug in turn, attach the lead, rest it on the block and turn over the engine using the button under the bonnet. Make sure it's out of gear, but look at the quality of spark, it should be a nice flash. If one or more appears to be quite poor, then we need to look at what it might be.
Last edited by Dean on Wed May 17, 2017 8:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My Minor:
A Clarendon Grey 1953 4 Door Series II.
MMOC - 66535

palacebear
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: Yes

Post by palacebear »